Turn off Auto Backup of Photos & Videos in Google Plus Android App

Want to Turn off Auto Backup ? Here is detailed tutorial on disabling google+ auto backup on android.

Google+ is by-default installed on most of the android smartphones. While you are setting up Google account with Android, you would asked several options like sync Google+ albums and syncing contacts etc. Generally on Google+, there would be Google Plus Photo Backup feature that is on by default. It would backup your taken photos from your phone on Google+ Photo Storage online on your Gmail Account.

This would create backup of your photos and videos on Cloud to retrieve it back from anywhere. Also it would be useful incase of you have reset factory setting on your smartphone.But some of you don’t like that feature and want to Delete Pictures from Auto Backup because of privacy. Here is the detailed guide on How to Delete Google Auto Backup photos.

How to Disable Google+ Auto Backup of Photos and Video

Some peoples are very careful about their privacy and want to keep their photos and videos in safe place. They don’t want to make it available to view for others. This autobackup features on Google+ android app may not like by such users.It was previously known as instant upload.  You can turn off auto backup features on Google plus android app easily with few steps.

Auto Backup on Android app would store your device’s photos and videos on secure location on https://plus.google.com/photos/instantupload. Your stored photos on Google+ would be in private place and would not be shared to anyone untill you select to share it publicly. Not everyone like to upload their all photos and videos on Google+ automatically. Because it would consume device’s bandwidth and also consume battery. If you disable sync and disable autobackup, it would prevent your battery from draining fast.

Quick How to Turn off Auto Backup of Google photos

1. Go to Google+ android app and click on option to view setting menu.

Turn off Auto Backup

2. Select setting option. Then you would be able to see Auto Backup Setting. This is the setting that automatically backup your photos and videos to Google Photos. Select that option.

3. You would see Autobackup option page. There at the top, there would be ON/OFF button. Tap on it to enable or disable it.

If you want to only upload photos or videos, you can specify them under backup setting on third step.Backup photos and backup videos options are there, you can configure from there.

If you select it as ON, your photos and videos would be automatically uploaded to Google photos. If you disable Google Plus Backup, your autobackup feature would be disabled and your photos would not be uploaded. This will permanently Turn off Auto Backup from your smartphone.

Check below video on how to turn off autobackup of google photos from below.

See Also : App Lock – Protect Android Apps With Password Protection

Last Updated On: May 6, 2016

About Bhavesh Sondagar

Bhavesh Sondagar is editor in chief and webmaster of Theandroidportal Blog. You may feel free to contact us for reviewing your product using this contact form.

7 comments

  1. My phone broke… smashed =/. I’m using a friends old phone temporarily. This phone holds close to nothing, and i can basically DO nothing because my auto backup has 1000 things on it (which wasn’t a problem on my phone). I for the LIFE OF ME CANNOT DELETE IT. I came across this page, however it still isnt helping. Google+ WAS disabled, so I enabled it to do your above steps. When I go to Google+, then settings, auto settings is not an option. Im losing my MIND. Ive been at this for days, NOTHING Ive found is working. Please help.

  2. when i uncheck “Back up my data” in “Backup & reset” section of setting.

    and press back button then “Back up my data” in “Backup & reset” section automatically turns into Checked.

    another problem is

    “Android OS” in “Data Usage” section takes so much of data (may be for above mentioned problem i am not confirm) i can not “restrict background ” for it because all apps stops because of that.

    So please help……… 🙁

  3. Fucked my ph. Thanks not for auto backup. Might give android and Google a miss from now on..give iphones a go.

  4. I just hope Android developers decides to TURN THIS OFF BY DEFAULT it’s invading once privacy already if someone wants to backup their files on a cloud then I think it depends on the person who owns the device to enable it.

  5. It turned out that even if I turn auto backup OFF, the phone keeps uploading the photos to the Cloud. If I uncheck the “Sync Google+ Upload” to stop syncing, I find it checked again after a few minutes and the upload automatically restart. Is there any way to stop an initiated upload for good? Thanks for any help.

    • You will need to clear data from your phone for Google+ application. You can find it from your phone under Setting > Application Manager > Google+ and click on reset data option. Synced files will be removed.

Home > How To > Turn off Auto Backup of Photos & Videos in Google Plus Android App